Mediterranean cup 2013: triple casquette pour Blue-Addiction!

When Blue-Addiction goes to Crete, it’s for no less than 3 different missions. This year, the 3 weeks of the Med Cup were action-packed!

remy and surface
Photographer: Daan Verhoeven ©

THE COMPETITION: yes, of course, Remy was there to compete. Getting back on track for this season and preparing his progression for the world championships was the goal of those three weeks. The weather conditions didn’t allow the competitors to dive as much as they expected, but at the end, that was a good challenge for Remy: he managed to get back to his PB, 94 meters, after only a couple of dives. And physically… nothing to compare, it’s easy… it seems that the hard training sessions at the gym with his coach Christophe Lyonnard and the hundreds of kilometers cycling with Guillaume Nery are paying off! The surprise came from an unexpected guest: a massive – violent – hallucinating, euphoric narcosis! Remy next challenge is to tame it in the coming months… a necessary step to reach the 100 meters!

And with only 2 disciplines out of 3 – 90m CWT and an easy – no training – 57m CNF, Remy is still on the 3rd step of the podium and comes back with a nice bronze medal. A small satisfaction and very good vibes for the next competitions! Stay tuned for the Nice Abyss in July!

mouthfill coachingTHE COACHING: On top of being a competitor, Remy was also coach and instructor at the Med Cup. He spent several afternoons giving deep equalization workshops to other athletes and helped Alice Modolo to fine-tune her mouthfill equalization technique. After a few dry-land sessions blowing up balloons and being amusingly stared at by tourists passing by – true that it couldn’t look less like a top level freediver coaching to them! – after a few days, the efforts are paying off! With a more controlled technique, Alice pushed the French constant weight record to 81 meters on the last day of the competition! A well-deserved success for her ! B-A is proud to have had the opportunity to help her on her way. On top of this, Thomas Brossard successfully passed his AIDA 3*, and improved his personal record from 26 meters before the course, to a nice 37 meters during the competition! Well done! In short, there was no holidays in Crete for Remy…

apnea magazineTHE PRESS: An article on B-A website, that’s interesting… a full page in APNEA MAGAZINE, that’s even better! Chloe ensures the media coverage, and prepared a nice article on the French Mafia in crete, to be published in the August release of the magazine, with exclusive pictures. We’ll post a copy of the page when we have it!

READ MORE ABOUT IT :

Thanks to Daan Verhoeven and Guillaume Nery for the pics.

Leave a Reply

Mediterranean cup 2013: triple casquette pour Blue-Addiction!

Quand Blue-Addiction se déplace, ça n’est pas pour rien… pas moins de trois missions sur cette Med Cup, ces 3 semaines ont étés intenses, encore une fois.

remy and surface
Photographer: Daan Verhoeven ©
LA COMPETITION… oui, forcement, Rémy y va pour ca. Se remettre dans le bain pour commencer la saison et préparer sa progression en vue des championnats du monde. En Crète les conditions n’ont pas permis de plonger autant que ce qui était prévu, mais finalement c’est un bon point pour Rémy : il retourne a 94 mètres, sa profondeur maximum en 2012, après seulement quelques plongées. Physiquement ca n’a plus rien a voir… le coaching de Christophe Lyonnard, le vélo avec Guillaume Nery ont payé : remonter de cette profondeur, au niveau musculaire, est une formalité. La surprise est venue de la narcose… violente, hallucinatoire, euphorique. Gérer la narcose, s’y habituer, c’est le challenge pour Rémy dans les prochains mois, et passage obligé pour aller aux 100 mètres !

Avec seulement 2 disciplines sur 3 – 90 mètres en CWT et un petit 57 mètres CNF sans entrainement – Rémy décroche tout de même la médaille de bronze de la Med Cup, une petite satisfaction, mais surtout de très bonnes ondes pour la suite. RDV au Nice Abyss, début Juillet !

mouthfill coachingLE COACHING… Pas seulement plongeur, Rémy emmène aussi son role de coach et d’instructeur à la Med Cup. Il passe plusieurs après-midis à travailler avec d’autres compétiteurs sur la compensation profonde. Il accompagne aussi Alice Modolo dans sa progression, et dans sa compréhension plus fine et maîtrisée du mouthfill. Quelques séances à terre à discuter, réfléchir et gonfler des ballons sous l’œil amusé des touristes de passage – c’est vrai que de l’extérieur ça ne ressemble pas à l’idée que l’on se fait d’un entrainement d’apnéiste de haut niveau ! – et quelques séances techniques dans l’eau permettent à Alice de se sentir plus au contrôle de sa compensation, et passer la barre des 80 mètres. Blue-Addiction est fier d’avoir pu lui apporter son aide dans sa quête de la progression, où au passage elle fait tomber un record de France a 81 mètres en poids constant ! A cela on rajoute un cours AIDA 3 étoiles avec Thomas Brossard, qui passe en l’espace de quelques sessions de 26 mètres a 37 mètres CWT ! Une belle progression ! En résumé, Rémy n’a pas eu beaucoup de vacances en Crète…

apnea magazineLA PRESSE… un article sur le site Blue-Addiction c’est bien, mais une page entière dans Apnea Magazine c’est encore mieux ! Chloé assure la communication et a préparé un bel article sur la French Mafia en Crète, a paraitre dans l’édition d’Aout, avec des photos exclusives. RDV dans les kiosques fin Juillet !

LIENS SUR LE SUJET :

Merci à Daan Verhoeven et Guillaume Nery pour les images.

Laisser un commentaire